Confusion

The good(ish) news is, I think I ovulated last week. The bad news is, I am not sure when or how or if it was any good. A run down:

  • 9/24 – get my first positive OPK
  • 9/25 – ultrasound, Dr. P says there’s been no growth from last u/s 4 days ago. 2 follicles measuring around 10mm plus a hand full of smaller ones. Cancels IUI cycle, thinks I’m not going to ovulate. Says there is a remote chance I ovulated and we just missed it.
  • 9/26 – temperature goes up just .1 degree. OPK still positive.
  • 9/27 – temperature shoots up .4 degrees (but is still lower than my usual temperature range is during this part of my cycle).
  • 9/28 – 10/1 – temperatures stay elevated. FF marks my chart as ovulating on 9/27.
  • 10/2 – progesterone drawn, 12.7

Just got off the phone with the phlebotomist and she says the 12.7 means I ovulated, but that the number is low. Still, it’s possible yesterday was only day 5, since we’re not sure when I ovulated. She is going to review with my doctor and get back to me. Here’s where I’m confused. I thought you couldn’t ovulate until the follicles were a certain size? I was measuring around 10mm on Tuesday so it doesn’t seem like 1 or 2 days was enough time for them to grow enough to pop. I asked my Dr. about it yesterday and she is just as confused as I am. She thinks if I did ovulate, it wasn’t any good. Why does this process have to be so confusing? Feeling so frustrated today.

2 comments
  1. Kristin said:

    So confusing! I hate when the date of ovulation isn’t clear. I’m sorry you weren’t able to go forward with the IUI. That is incredibly frustrating!

  2. Well, I’ve always heard that follicles need to be over 14mm to be mature and, therefore, viable. And, for what it’s worth, although my understanding is that 2mm/day is standard follicle growth rate, on my 3rd (and succesful) IUI I had ultrasounds two days in a row prior to trigger, and my lead follicle went from 17 to 21mm overnight. So, I think you never know…

    I’m sorry things aren’t totally clear for you. The not really knowing is the pits!

Leave a Reply

