An Update and Liebster

Hello. I sort of disappeared there didn’t I? We took the month off from treatment and I decided to make that a complete month off from obsessing over my (lack of) fertility. I was, maybe, 80% successful? I have been reading all of your stories though, just not commenting and not writing. It was a much needed break, and I would be lying if I didn’t admit that I had hoped, perhaps foolishly, that this month would be our miracle. Just stop thinking about it and it will happen, right? I’m sure we’ve all heard that gem at least once. Well, my bbt dropped this morning and I got a glaring negative HPT so I’m guessing that advice is crap. What that means is, later today I will schedule our IVF consult meeting. During our month off we got state approval for one partially covered IVF. We will cycle in December. I could use all the encouragement you’ve got because, frankly, I’m freaking out.

In other news, the lovely Allo Allo nominated me for a Liebster. Thanks! Here are my answers:

If you could live in any past decade, which one would you live in and why?
You know, I like the one we’re in. I work in technology, so this probably has something to do with it. I’ve always been fascinated by what the future holds.

Please share a favourite recipe/food blog etc.
I love to cook. LOVE LOVE LOVE to cook. The kitchen is my happy place. Orangette is the very first food blog I started following, what seems like forever ago. I adore Molly and everything I’ve made from her site (and book!) has been delicious. http://orangette.blogspot.com/

What’s the most ridiculous thing you’ve had to do since TTC?
I tried to do a head stand, you know, after. There were bruises involved. It was very bad.

What is one difference (if any) having a blog has made in your life?
You know, I’ve been blogging since 2002 in some form or another. I think the amazing thing about blogs is the opportunity it gives you to connect with people. I’ve made real friends through my blogs over the years and the writing has gotten me through some of the hardest times in my life. With this blog, specifically, I’m grateful for support. Infertility is such an isolating thing. It has made me feel less lonely and less afraid. So thank you.

Since I’m so late to the Liebster party and it seems that just about everyone I follow has been nominated I won’t do that here but instead throw a question out to all of you to answer in the comments (if you want!).

What has surprised you the most during this trying to conceive process?

9 comments
  1. I was freaking out about IVF too ( our stop trying cycle didn’t work either. ) but it wasn’t nearly as bad as I feared. I was lucky side effects wise. If you have any questions please ask! My advice now is to plan a few things to do for you during the cycle – get a pedicure, go shopping, whatever!

    • hazel said:

      I like the planning stuff for me during the cycle idea! I will probably have a ton of questions too!

  2. Lya said:

    Welcome back! Glad to hear that the break has been good for you.
    We won’t be doing our first IVF until around March but I alreay like the idea of planning stuff for me during that cycle. There’s gotta be a treat waiting for us, right?

  3. Daryl said:

    I popped my first BCP yesterday and start injections December 1 for our very first IVF, and “freaking out” just about sums it up. Here’s to a successful cycle for both of us!

    • hazel said:

      I start BCP on Monday and am scheduled to start injections on December 3! We really are cycle buddies. Hopefully it will be an especially good Christmas for both of us.

  4. I like your answers 🙂 And I love Orangette, though I admit I skew a bit more towards Smitten Kitchen myself. For me the most surprising thing is not feeling at all the way I thought I would when I’ve gotten to any particular stage – like at one point I really thought I’d feel so excited and actually I felt terrified, or thought I’d feel terrified but actually I felt amazing and in control (i.e. during the treatments). Really thinking of you guys cycling this month, keeping fingers, toes, eyes, hair, legs whatever crossed for BFPs for the holidays.

    • hazel said:

      I love Smitten! I used to follow her waaay back in the day when she was blogging about her dating life. I also suspect that she had IF issues (total speculation!). The hints are there on her blog if you look for them.

      • It’s funny you say that – I read her now and read her then, too, and I had the same thought about them having issues. She was so baby-mad back in the day, and I was surprised how long it took them to have their son, as well as that they only have one. I hope for their sake it’s not the case, but it’s what I suspected.

Leave a Reply

