The Calendar

Tomorrow I take my last birth control pill and go in for my baseline monitoring appointment. It will also be the last time I see my RE. Due to a family crisis she is moving out of state; tomorrow is actually her last day. I’m a little saddened by this, because we started this with her, but also excited to meet our new doctor, who also happens to be the clinic director. He was actually my first choice, but the wait to see him was so long that we ended up going with our current RE. Maybe it’s fate? Or so I’m telling myself.

On Monday we start stimming. No lupron, so I guess this means I’m doing an antagonist protocol? Have any of you done this protocol? Thoughts? I asked our IVF counselor about it and she said it’s the standard protocol for the clinic. Since their success rate is currently 53% for my age range (35-37) I guess they know what they’re doing? This hasn’t stopped me from consulting Dr. Google, tough, of course. Anyway! The plan is to stim for 10 days with a tentative retrieval set for Dec. 14. Let’s get this show on the road!

13 comments
  1. Kristin said:

    I am going to preface this with the fact that I don’t know a lot about IVF protocols, but I think I’ve read that some doctors don’t use Lupron on women of a certain age – you know the old folks like you and I. Regardless, I hope it is exactly what your body needs and assists you in making lots of fabulous follicles.

    • hazel said:

      Thanks! I think my failed Femara cycle might also be one of the reasons.

  2. Daryl said:

    If I ever get to start stims, I won’t be taking Lupron, either, but I will start Ganirelix about mid-way through to prevent me from ovulating all my lovely (hypothetical) eggs. I don’t know if it has anything to do with age in my case (I’m just under that 35-year-old cut-off) or if it’s standard, but my RE has fantastic stats, so I’ll do whatever he says! Good luck!

    • hazel said:

      I saw your cycle got cancelled. I’m so sorry.

      • Daryl said:

        I prefer to think of it as “postponed,” but yeah. Boo.

  3. Lya said:

    I have no experience with either one of the standard protocol. I take it as a great sign that are able to do this cycle with your fav doc. Good luck with you scan tomorrow!

  4. trufflelove said:

    Good luck with this cycle!!

  5. Andy said:

    I started stimming right away, without using Lupron. I think it is supposed to reduce the risk of OHSS. GL with your new doctor!

    • hazel said:

      Thank you! No OHSS would be great.

  6. I just found your blog through cycle sistas. I’ll be starting my meds at the end of the month. We are really close. Good luck! I’ll be checking back to see how it goes.

    • hazel said:

      Good luck with your cycle too!

Leave a Reply

