These stirrups are legit

Egg retrieval was bright and early this morning. Because it was a Saturday the clinic was pretty quiet. We got there at 7:30 on the dot, got my blood work done and talked things over with one of the IVF coordinators (ours is on vacation). Before I knew it we were in a our own little cubby where I got to change into a fashionable outfit of blue booties, hair net and hospital gown. The husband went off to do his bit and the anesthesiologist came in to get my IV started. At 8:30 they walked me into the OR and got me situated on the table. The last thing I remember is telling everyone is ‘These stirrups are legit!’.

The next thing I knew I was waking up in our recovery room. I feel ok. I had mild cramping but they gave me tylenol and a heating pad and so far, that seems to have done the trick. I’ve been napping on and off since. Fingers crossed I don’t get OHSS. The doctor has me taking 1/2 doses of cetrotide for the next 4 days as a precaution.

And in case you’re wondering (I’m such a tease!) they got 25 eggs. Holy shit balls right? Fingers crossed our one day babies are in that bunch. First fertilization report is tomorrow morning.

6 comments
  1. Daryl said:

    25 eggs! Wow! I’m glad it went well. Sorry you have to wait for transfer, but maybe we’ll end up on the same schedule after all.

  2. Kristin said:

    Holy shit balls is right! Congrats! Fingers crossed for fertilization and the impending FET!

  3. WOW! 25 eggs is awesome!!! Can’t wait to hear the fertilization report!

    It sounds like you’ve been on quite the roller coaster these past few days, and I know holding off for a FET is a bit disappointing, but you certainly don’t want to roll the dice with worse odds. So YAY for the upcoming FET! And I hope you’re feeling great and the OHSS is kept at bay!

    • hazel said:

      No OHSS! I feel so lucky with how quickly I went back to feeling normal.

Leave a Reply

